Security Council

The Security Council consists of 15 members, five permanent and ten temporary who sit on the council for two years each. The permanent members are China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The topics discussed by the Security Council are the most challenging, eg nuclear arms in North Korea, and resolutions approved by the Security Council are enforced by the UN peacekeepers.

Delegates who wish to sit on the Security Council need to represent one of the 15 member countries and should have previous experience of MUN.

The topics to be discussed in the Security Council 2018 are:

A: The question of Conflicts in the Central African Republic

B: The question of the Situation in Yemen


Research Reports

Topic A: Conflicts in the Central African Republic

Topic B: The Situation in Yemen


Presidents of the Security Council:

Gabriella Emery, Bishop Thomas Grant, England

Jorden Hoek, Rijnlands Lyceum Sassenheim, The Netherlands