Arctic Council

Established in 1996, the Arctic Council is devoted to advancing international communication and good governance across the circumpolar Arctic. Around its table sit the eight Arctic States - Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the USA - along with six Arctic indigenous peoples organizations representing the Aleut, Athabaskans, Gwich'in, Inuit, Saami and the many people's of the Russia North.

The topics to to be discussed in the Arctic Council 2020 are:

In the Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment Group (PAME): The Question of Plastic Pollution in the Arctic marine environment

In the Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG): The Question of Sustainable Energy in Arctic communities

In the Ministerial Meeting: The Question of the EU as an Arctic Council Observer


It is essential that delegates read the following two documents in order to prepare well for the conference:

Delegates’ Guide

Research Briefs

Delegate Positions Papers are due by Friday 10th January 2020 (details can be found in the Delegates' Guide) and need to be emailed to Dr. Antony Speca at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


The Chairs of the Arctic Council are:

PAME: Iciar Eulate - Colegio Ayalde, Spain

SDWG: Naiara Gil - Colegio Ayalde, Spain


We are pleased to now make available the Bilbao Declaration, the outcome of MAC Bilbao 2020:


Previous Declarations:

Bilbao Declaration 2019

Bilbao Declaration 2018

Bilbao Declaration 2020