Arctic Council

Established in 1996, the Arctic Council is devoted to advancing international communication and good governance across the circumpolar Arctic. Around its table sit the eight Arctic States - Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the USA - along with six Arctic indigenous peoples organizations representing the Aleut, Athabaskans, Gwich'in, Inuit, Saami and the many people's of the Russia North.

The topics to to be discussed in the Arctic Council 2018 are:

In the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP): The Question of Methane Hydrates and Climate Change

In the Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG): The Question of Broadband Connectivity in Arctic Communities